Skip to main content
 Michigan Collegiate Hockey Conference 


Click logo above to view website

The Michigan Collegiate Hockey Conference (MCHC) is an ACHA Division 3 conference made up of smaller colleges and universities in the state of Michigan.

ACHA National Champions

The MCHC has produced eleven National Championship teams, the most of any Division 3 conference, including Ferris State (1994), Muskegon Community College (2003), Calvin College (2004), Saginaw Valley State (2009, 2010), Adrian College-Gold (2012, 2013, 2014), Michigan State University (2015), Oakland University (2016) and Aquinas College (2017). SVSU became the first school in Division 3 history to not only win two National Championships, but to do it in back-to-back years. Adrian College-Gold later became the first school in Division 3 history to not only make three straight National Championship Games, but to win all three.

ACHA National Runner-Ups

The MCHC has produced nine National Runner-Ups including Hope College (2003, 2010, 2011, 2014), Northwood (2006), Davenport (2012), Michigan-Flint (2013), Aquinas College (2016) and Calvin College (2017). Hope College is the first school in Division 3 to make it to four National Championship games.

ACHA National Championship Game

Seven times the ACHA Division 3 National Championship Game has featured two MCHC teams. In 2003 Muskegon Community College vs. Hope College, in 2010 Saginaw Valley State vs. Hope College, in 2012 Adrian College-Gold vs. Davenport, in 2013 Adrian College vs. Michigan-Flint, in 2014 Adrian College-Gold vs. Hope College, in 2016 Oakland University vs. Aquinas College and in 2017 Aquinas College vs. Calvin College.

Regular Season Format

The MCHC is divided into two divisions: East and West. Teams play each team within their division twice (home and away). Teams earn two points for a win, one point for an overtime loss and one point for a tie (no shootouts). The team with the most points at the end of the season wins their division. If two teams earn the same amount of points, they will be co-winners (no tie breaker).


Adrian College
Central Michigan University
Lawrence Tech University
University of Michigan
University of Michigan-Flint
Northwood University
Oakland University
Saginaw Valley State University

Calvin College
Davenport University
Grand Valley State University
Hope College
Indiana Tech University
Michigan State University

 American Collegiate Hockey Association 

Click logo above to view ACHA website

Northwood is also a member of the AMERICAN COLLEGIATE HOCKEY ASSOCIATION.  We compete in the Division III League along with over 150 teams across the Nation.  Division III is split up into four regions: North, South, Pacific, & Atlantic. 

We compete in the North Region